Careers in Code Student Success Stories: Karin Thorne

Hack Upstate
2 min readMar 23, 2020

--

Careers in Code Student Success Stories is a series focused on our coding bootcamp graduates. We’re following their progress in the six months after graduation to learn about projects they’re working on, job placements, and other exciting updates. Our first cohort graduated in August 2019.

Karin Thorne was a field technician who served insurance companies in need of audits when she came to Careers in Code in 2019. As a mom of three children ages 10, 18, and 28, she wanted to pursue a more enjoyable career that would also create a better life for her family. She envisioned her next job after graduating our coding bootcamp being one she looked forward to every day, and where she would be until retirement.

That job has arrived! Karin is now working as a front-end developer for Gypsum Express in Baldwinsville, New York, where she will be coding for all the new projects they have on the horizon.

“I quit my job in November to concentrate on coding, learning, and keeping my skills fresh. I also quit to start my own business, JSWebb Development LLC. I filed all the paperwork and made the publications,” Karin said. “Right now I am looking for a client base of small business, professionals and hobbyists to help them create websites or even an app.”

With all these new developments, she is working on creating a schedule that works for her so everything can flow smoothly. One of those new developments also includes a podcast — Salt City Code, which she co-founded with fellow CIC alum Kelly Corey. The show focuses on the Syracuse tech community and features interviews with local developers.

Kelly and Karin are always looking for guests on the show, so if you’re interested in signing up to record with them, visit their scheduling page here or email saltcitycode@gmail.com.

“Taking that step and going way out of my comfort zone by going to an open hack meetup, and then meeting Jesse, led me to apply for Careers in Code. Being accepted into the program and finishing the program has been one of the best decisions and accomplishments in my life. It not only changed my career path, it changed my life and all for the better. It changed my home life in a positive way, it allowed me to meet new people in such a welcoming community, and it allowed me to make new friends. It has put me on a path that I wish I had been on a long time ago and it’s only going to get better from here.”

Keep in touch with Karin! Connect with her on LinkedIn or subscribe to her podcast.

--

--